Category:

 Historical

London, 1941. The city is in blackout, besieged by nightly air raids from Germany. Two strangers are about to meet. Between them they may alter the course of the war.
While the Blitz has united the nation, there is an enemy hiding in plain sight. A group of British ci... read more

Our Friends in Berlin

Category:

 Historical

An utterly compelling recreation of the events that led to one of the last executions in New Zealand.
Albert Black, known as the 'jukebox killer', was only twenty when he was convicted of murdering another young man in a fight at a milk bar in Auckland on 26 July 1955. His ... read more

This Mortal Boy

Category:

 Historical

'A completely fascinating novel and a marvellously skilful re-imagining of real people, times and places. Outstanding.' - William Boyd ___________________________ They told him everything. He told everyone else.
Over countless martini-soaked Manhattan lunches, they shared their... read more

Swan Song

Category:

 Historical

March 1939 Estelle is the headstrong daughter of Fleur, a Resistance legend who disappeared during the Great War, supposedly killed while helping Allied soldiers to escape. Christa, an only child, longs to break free from the constraints of London suburbia, and fantasises abo... read more

The Hour of Separation

Ex-war correspondent and surfer Chas Smith takes the reader on a wild ride in this outrageously honest expose of surfing culture and cocaine use. For readers of SCAR TISSUE by Anthony Kiedis, THE WOLF OF WALL STREET by Jordan Belfort, MP: THE LIFE OF MICHAEL... read more

Cocaine and Surfing: An Outrageous Expose

Category:

 Historical

For fans of The Book Thief, a powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 that stays with you long after the final page is read. Margot Baumann hasleft school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. Butthis is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sac... read more

The Love That I Have

Category:

 Historical

Levi's War follows on from The Keeper of Secrets and Rachel's Legacy, tracing the story of the eldest Horowitz son, Levi, who is smuggled out of Berlin to London the day after the Kristallnacht in 1938, where he makes the momentous decision to be parachuted back behind enemy lines and... read more

Levi's War

Category:

 Historical

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - NEW YORK'S "ONE BOOK, ONE NEW YORK" PICK The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad--now available at a great value Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction Named One ... read more

Manhattan Beach

Category:

 Historical

NATIONAL BEST SELLER
 
From the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of The English Patient: a mesmerizing new novel that tells a dramatic story set in the decade after World War II through the lives of a small group of unexpected characters and two teenagers... read more

Warlight

Category:

 Historical

Conn Iggulden, the bestselling author of the Emperor, Conqueror and The Wars of the Roses series' returns to the Ancient World with a ferociously bloody epic . . . In the Ancient World, one army was feared above all others. 401 BC. The Persian king Artaxerxes rules an empire... read more

The Falcon of Sparta

Category:

 Historical

The bestselling author of The Paris Wife returns to the subject of Ernest Hemingway in a novel about his passionate, stormy marriage to Martha Gellhorn--a fiercely independent, ambitious young woman who would become one of the greatest war correspondents of the twentieth century. In ... read more

Love and Ruin

Category:

 Historical

"New York Times"-bestselling author Cornwell makes a dramatic departure with this enthralling standalone novel that tells the story of the first production of "A Midsummer Night's Dream"--as related by William Shakespeare's estranged younger brother.over.

Fools and Mortals