Category:

 Historical

Series:The\Shardlake Ser.

Tombland is the seventh novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series.
Summer, 1549.
Two years after the death of Henry VIII, England is sliding into chaos . . .
The nominal king, Edward VI, is eleven years old. His uncle Edward Seymour, Duke of Som... read more

Tombland (#7)
$34.99(NZD) inc GST

Category:

 Historical

The runaway Australian bestseller about love and loss in wartime Germany, inspired by a true story Growing up in Hitler's Germany, Charlotte von Klein has big dreams for the future. Her mind is full of plans for a sumptuous wedding to her childhood sweetheart Heinrich while workin... read more

Girl from Munich

Category:

 Historical

Series:The\Last Kingdom Ser.

Bernard Cornwell's epic story of the making of England continues in this eleventh installment in the bestselling Saxon Tales series--"like Game of Thrones, but real" (The Observer)--the basis of the hit Netflix television series The Last Kingdom. His blood is Saxo... read more

War of the Wolf (Last Kingdom #11)

The extraordinary story of Frieda von Richthofen, wife of D. H. Lawrence and the real-life inspiration for Lady Chatterley's Lover.
'A lush and absorbing portrait of a fascinating woman who refused to compromise on what really matters: to be known, t... read more

Frieda - A Novel of the Real Lady Chatterley

Category:

 Historical

Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern-day Los Angeles, "The Trick is a lyrical, uplifting, and funny story that will tug at all of your heartstrings" (Armando Lucas Correa, bestselling author of The German Girl) that follows a young boy seeking out a cynical, o... read more

The Trick - A Novel

Category:

 Historical

One of Vanity Fair's Best Fall Books of 2018 "An important, powerful, memorable book that invites us to look differently not only at The Iliad but at our own ways of telling stories about the past and the present." -Emily Wilson, translator of The Od... read more

The Silence of the Girls
$37.00(NZD) inc GST

Category:

 Historical

'A novel of tremendous beauty . . . A wonderful achievement' Sarah Waters
'A beautiful and extraordinary book' Philip Pullman
When Suzanne, a shy 17-year-old, meets the brilliant but troubled Lucie in rural Provence at the turn of the twentieth century, the two y... read more

Never Anyone but You

Category:

 Historical

Failed fashion designer Sylvie Dearlove is coming home to England - broke, ashamed and in disgrace - only to be told her parents are finally selling their once-grand, now crumbling country house, Bledesford, the ancestral home of the Dearlove family for countless generations.... read more

Dressing the Dearloves

Category:

 Historical

Now a major movie, directed by Daniel Espinosa and starring Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and Gary Oldman. For fans of Robert Harris, John Le Carre and Martin Cruz Smith comes a gripping thriller set in Moscow, 1953. Under Stalin's terrifying regime families live in fear. When the all-powerful S... read more

Child 44

Category:

 Historical

'Achilles? Because...?''Obsession of mine. Half man, half god - and his own worst enemy. My kind of man.' He laughed. Istanbul, Turkey 1955 Benedict Hitchens, once a world-renowned archaeologist, is now a discredited - but still rather charming - shell of his former self. On... read more

The Honourable Thief

Category:

 Historical

New York Times bestselling author Simon Mawer returns to Czechoslovakia, this time during the turbulent 1960s, with a suspenseful story of sex, politics, and betrayal.
In the summer of 1968, the year of the Prague Spring with a Cold War winter, Oxford students James Borthwick an... read more

Prague Spring

Category:

 Historical

Discovery. Desire. Deception. A wondrously imagined tale of two female botanists, separated by more than a century, in a race to discover a life-saving flower . . . In Victorian England, headstrong adventuress Elizabeth takes up her late father's quest for a rare, miracul... read more

The Botanist's Daughter